Home‎ > ‎RCC News‎ > ‎

New Board of Directors 2013-2014

posted Oct 25, 2013, 5:36 AM by Hector Carranco   [ updated Oct 25, 2013, 5:38 AM ]
We had a very well attended Annual General Meeting. Thank you to all the people who took the time to go down the canoe club for this important event. Sue Holloway, Commodore, and Stephan Sander, Treasurer, delivered their reports highlighting last season's achievements. Sue thanked the directors leaving the board: David Fortier, Sarah Kennedy and Kim Hodges. Kim received an ovation after Sue described her contributions as board member the past few years:

"Leaving the Board this year is Kim Hodges who has built our PaddleAll/Para program that is the envy of clubs across Canada but more importantly has brought the joy of paddling to so many who would not normally be able to access our sport. Kim will remain involved in these projects that she has put her heart and soul into and we thank her sincerely for her energy, efforts and good counsel."

Stephan showed the revenues and expenditures in compelling graphic representations. He showed how the revenue of the club has grown from $450K to $850K in the last 4 years. The bottom line: the budget was balanced.

A great new Board of Directors was acclaimed:
  • Commodore: Ron Sibthorpe
  • Vice-Commodore: Andrew Stead
  • Treasurer: Stephan Sander
  • Secretary: Terry Longhorn
  • Past Commodore: Sue Holloway
  • Doug Abraham*
  • Mike Brownlie
  • Gillian Bryenton*
  • Lorraine Lafrance*
  • Brent Schmidt
  • Louise Schmidt
  • Scott Seaby
  • Ivonne Shoucair*
* New to the board