Home‎ > ‎

Sprint Canoe/Kayak

The classic test of speed and power.. 
In Sprint Canoe/Kayak, paddlers race on a straight, nine lane course, with each boat in a separate lane, over three different distances: 200m, 500m and 1000m. There are canoe and kayak events, for men and women, in single (K1), double (K2) and four boats (K4). In a kayak, the paddler is seated and uses a two-blade paddle, while in a canoe, the paddler is kneeling on one knee, and uses a single blade paddle. 

The sport became and Olympic event in 1936. There are currently twelve flatwater sprint events on the Olympic Program. 
  • C-1 Men: 200m, 1000m
  • C-2 Men: 1000m
  • K-1 Men: 200m, 1000m
  • K-2 Men: 200m, 1000m
  • K-4 Men: 1000m
  • K-1 Women: 200m, 500m
  • K-2 Women: 500m
  • K-4 Women: 500m
In non-Olympic competitions (World Championships, Pan American Championships, World Cups, etc.) there are canoe and kayak events for both men and women in various distances, including: 200m, 500m, 1000m, 5000m and 200m relay.

Governing Bodies
The International Canoe Federation (ICF) is the umbrella organization of all national canoe organizations worldwide.  It is headquartered in Lausanne, Switzerland, and administers all aspects of canoe sport worldwide. To date, there are 147 countries that are affiliated with the ICF.

In Canada, Sprint Racing is governed by Canoe-Kayak Canada. The CKC (formerly the Canadian Canoe Association) was founded in 1900 and is an organization made up of three distinct and self-governing disciplines: Sprint Racing, Whitewater Racing and Marathon Canoe Racing. The National Office is located in Ottawa. 

The Rideau Canoe Club is a member of the Eastern Ontario Division (EOD) of the Canadian Canoe Association, along with Carleton Place, Gananoque, North Bay, Ottawa River and Sydenham Lake Canoe Clubs.  The other divisions in Canada include: Atlantic, Quebec, Western Ontario, Prairie and Pacific.

The Ontario Canoe Sprint Racing Affiliation (or OCSRA) is the governing body for the sport in the province of Ontario. The OCSRA is responsible for selecting a provincial team, running training camps, overseeing the selection of Ontario's team for Canada Games and administering financial assistance for athletes, as awarded by the province.